18 December 2017 2016 ICFO PhD Thesis Awards

(left to right) Prof Adrian Bachtold, Dr Peter Weber, Dr Dominik Kufer, Prof Gerasimos Konstantatos, Dr Martí Perarnau, Prof. Antonio Acín

3 ICFO PhD graduates awarded for creative and ambitious research progress. Among more than 15 thesis defended by ICFO PhD Students in 2016, the Committee had an in depth deliberation to select the PhD Thesis Awards. This award was created in order to distinguish particularly brilliant PhD theses presented at ICFO. With this award, ICFO wishes to highlight and reward extraordinary PhD students whose research progress at the Institute has proven to be highly creative and ambitious.

This year, the award has been given:

In the theoretical field to:
  • Martí Perarnau , in recognition of the exceptional thesis: “Thermodynamics and Quantum Correlations” supervised by Prof. Dr. Antonio Acín.

In the experimental field, to:
  • Peter Weber , in recognition of the exceptional thesis: “Graphene Mechanical Resonators Coupled to Superconducting Microwave Cavities”, supervised by Prof. Dr. Adrian Bachtold.

In the experimental field, to:
  • Dominik Kufer in recognition of the exceptional thesis: “Photodetectors based on low-dimensional materials and hybrid systems”, supervised by Prof. Dr. Gerasimos Konstantatos.

Martí, Peter and Dominik received the award in the ceremony held on December 15 in the scope of the ICFO Day.