13 October 2011 Christiaan Huygens Science Award Winner

Prof. Frank Koppens awarded the 2011 Christiaan Huygens Science Award The Christiaan Huygensprijs foundation, under the auspices of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) has awarded the Christiaan Huygens Science award 2011 for theoretical and applied Physics to ICFO Professor and Nest Fellow, Frank Koppens.

The award was established in 1998 and is presented annually to a researcher whose doctoral dissertation has made an innovative contribution to a specified discipline. The 2011 award considered researchers from the disciplines of information and communication technology, physics, space studies, economics, actuarial studies and econometrics. Nominated researchers included Frank Koppens (2007, Delft), Hylke Akkerman (2008, Groningen), Liedewij Laan (2009, Leiden) and Ewold Verhagen (2010, Utrecht)

Congratulations Frank!