25 May 2016 Congratulations to New ICFO PhD graduate

Dr. Ivan Silveiro

Thesis Committee

Dr. Ivan Silveiro Flores graduated with a thesis in Plasmonic Response of Graphene Nanostructures. Dr. Ivan Silveiro Flores received his Máster in Laser Photonics and Technologies from the University of Santiago in Spain, before joining the Nanophotonics Theory research group led by ICREA Prof. at ICFO Javier García de Abajo. At ICFO, he centered his doctoral work on developing novel techniques to study the plasmonic response of graphene nanostructures for the development of future graphene plasmonic devices. Dr. Ivan Silveiro\'s thesis, entitled Plasmonic Response of Graphene Nanostructures , was supervised by ICREA Prof. at ICFO Javier García de Abajo.


Doped graphene has attracted an enormous interest due to its extraordinary optoelectronic properties useful for nanophotonics. Specifically, its bidimensional nature and singular atomic structure are translated into an unconventional linear dispersion relation. Thus, when nanostructures of graphene are illuminated, the excited plasmons (collective oscillations of conduction electrons) possess salient features like high tunability and degree of confinement, enhancement of the electromagnetic fields, strong nonlocalities and nonlinearities...

In this thesis, we realize an in-depth study of the plasmonic response of doped graphene under different novel conditions. We focus on the theoretical concepts that could be useful for the design of future graphene plasmonic devices. In particular, we present a general electrostatic scaling law in order find the graphene plasmon frequencies, we study the effects of inhomogeneous distributions of doping, we account for the substantial quantum-nonlocal and nonlinear effects over graphene plasmons, and finally, we present a new molecular sensing technique including grapheme.

Thesis Committee:

Carmen Bao Varela, Facultad de Optica y Optometría (USC).
Ramón A. Álvarez-Puebla, Universitat Rovira i Virgili (URV).
Tobías Stauber, Facultad de Ciencias (UAM).
Valerio Pruneri, ICFO.
Francisco Javier Meseguer Rico, Centro de Tecnologías Físicas (UPV).