14 December 2016 2016 PhD Poster Session and Award

Irene Alda, Achim Woessner, and Kavitha Kalavoor Gopalan

ICONS sponsors Best Poster Prize for the PhD Student Poster Session The ICFO Student Poster Session was created as an opportunity for the exchange of ideas and knowledge among ICFOnians of different groups and areas. Now in its 7th edition, it took place in the scope of the ICFO Day event.

This year, 29 posters were exhibited in the ICFO Nest hall for more than two weeks ensuring that all ICFOnians have the opportunity to take a look at them and benefit from the broad range of topics covered. Also, ICFOnians were given the possibility to vote for the best poster. Taking this popular vote into account and also after deliberation of the PhD Commission from one side and from an external Committee on the other, the Poster awardees were chosen, as follows:

1st place:
Kavitha Kalavoor Gopalan

Optoelectronics research group led by ICREA Prof at ICFO Dr. Valerio Pruneri
Poster #18
“Pyro-resistive infrared detector using graphene on LiNbO3”

2nd place:
Achim Woessner

Quantum Nano-Optoelectronics research group led by ICREA Prof at ICFO Dr. Frank Koppens
Poster #12
“Non-invasive photocurrent nanoscopy on bare and h-BN encapsulated graphene”

3rd place:
Irene Alda

Plasmon Nano-Optics research group led by ICREA Prof at ICFO Dr. Romain Quidant
Poster #19
“Planar Paul traps for trapping and manipulation of single nanoparticles”