05 March 2019 Bessel Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Prof Dr Jens Biegert

Prof. Dr. Jens Biegert receives the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation is a foundation established by the government of the Federal Republic of Germany and funded by the Federal Foreign Office, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development as well as other national and international partners. It promotes international academic cooperation between excellent scientists and scholars from Germany and from abroad.

ICREA Prof. at ICFO Dr. Jens Biegert has been awarded the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, which will be celebrated at the Humboldt Foundation’s award ceremony with its President Prof. Hans-Christian Pape and at Schloss Bellevue in Berlin with His Excellency, The President of the Federal Republic of Germany, Frank-Walter Steinmeier.

The laudation reads: “Professor Biegert is an internationally renowned leader in the fields of ultrafast laser physics and attosecond science. He has made pioneering contributions to atomic- and attosecond-resolution molecular imaging, and key advances towards element-selective attosecond x-ray spectroscopy of carrier dynamics in solid state systems. During his stay in Germany, he will explore the connection between electrons and the lattice within electronic and structural phase transitions and for superconductivity.”

Professor Jens Biegert is hosted by Professor Martin Wolf at the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society in Berlin.