24 August 2009 Record Participation at LPHYS\'09

Dr. Montserrat Torné

The 18th Annual International Laser Physics Workshop achieved record participation. With more than 560 researchers present, 540 oral contributions and 130 posters, LPHYS’09 achieved its record high in participation and scientific dissemination.

The event was chaired by Prof. Jens Biegert, and took place in Barcelona in July. Research was highlighted in 6 parallel sessions for 9 different research topics, such as Modern Trends in Laser Physics, Strong Field & Attosecond Physics, Biophotonics, Physics of Lasers, Nonlinear Optics & Spectroscopy, Physics of Cold Trapped Atoms, Quantum Information Science, Nanophotonics, and Fiber Lasers. The workshop was founded in 1991 by a group of scientists, including Nobel Prize winner, Prof. Alexander M. Prokhorov. The event was opened by Dr. Montserrat Torné, Director General for International Cooperation, MICINN, Government of Spain.