16 January 2020 ICFO’s Scientific Advisory Board

New SAB appointed by ICFO’s Board of Trustees ICFO’s Board of Trustees is proud to announce the members of ICFO’s Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) for the period 2020-2024. The SAB is central to the strategy and high-level evaluation procedures accompanying research conducted at ICFO. It is composed of internationally distinguished scientists, and advises ICFO’s Director and Board of Trustees on key matters concerning the scientific development of the Institute.

ICFO’s new Scientific Advisory Board has ten distinguished members:

  • Dr. Ignacio Cirac, Director at the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics in Garching. He will continue to serve as the SAB’s Chair.
  • Dr. William D. Phillips NIST Fellow and Group Leader of the Laser Cooling and Trapping Group. Winner of the 1997 Nobel Prize in Physics.
  • Dr. Donna Strickland, Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Waterloo. Winner of the 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics.
  • Dr. Anna Fontcuberta i Morral, Professor at the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne.
  • Dr. Alexander Gaeta, David M. Rickey Professor at Columbia University.
  • Dr. Michal Lipson, Eugene Higgins Professor at Columbia University.
  • Dr. Halina Rubinstein-Dunlop, Professor of Physics, Faculty of Science at University of Queensland, Australia.
  • Dr. Rolf Tarrach, Rector emeritus at University of Luxembourg.
  • Dr. Maria Yzuel, Member of the Department of Physics at the Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona.
  • Dr. Peter Zoller, Research Director of the Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information and Professor of Physics at the University of Innsbruck.